My 51st… and my 1st birthday/Mi 51°…y mi 1°… cumpleaños

A short post today to acknowledge my 51st birthday here on this earth and, of course, my first birthday without my firstborn. Lots of people have been sending birthday greetings oon Facebook, but I haven’t been able to look at them yet.

Una entrada breve para reconocer mi 51° cumpleaños aquí en la tierra y mi claro, mi primero sin mi hijo mayor. Muchos/as me han mandado saludos de mi cumpleaños en el Facebook pero todavía no los he podido ver.

I have very few words today to express my deep sorrow. I know many accompany in this grief today. Chris most likely wouldn’t have been with me today as he would have been on his biking adventure along the Mississippi. I would have probably missed him anyway and been a little bit worried, though I had trained myself not to worry…too much. Worry is not helpful. Even so, I miss Chris more than words can express.

Tengo muy pocas palabras hoy para expresar la pena profunda que siento. Ya sé que muchos/as me acompañan en mi tristeza. A lo mejor mi hijo no hubiera estado hoy conmigo porque hubiera estado andando en bici por ejemplo Río Misisipi en estos días. Seguramente lo hubiera extrañado y hubiera estado un poquito preocupada, aunque me había entrenado a no preocuparme por él… mucho. No ayuda preocuparse. Aún así le extraño a Chris más de lo que puedo expresar.

Today different friends are keeping me busy. I’m going to the dentist. And I’m looking through some old photos. These two are from when I turned 40. We had a lot of fun.

Hoy hay diferentes amigos/as que me están cuidando. Voy al dentista. Y estoy viendo unas fotos del pasado. Estas dos son de cuando cumplí mis 40. Nos divertimos mucho.

I still remember so clearly that I had been dreading turning 40 but then my friend’s husband died unexpectedly and they had two small children and I decided I had a lot to be thankful for because I had gotten to spend so much more time with my kids. And I am so incredibly grateful for the 22 years and 24 days I got to have Chris with me here and the 9 months I got to carry him. All of that time was a blessing.

Todavía recuerdo muy bien que tenía tanto miedo de cumplir 40 pero de repente falleció ella esposo de mi amiga y tenían dos hijos pequeños y decidí que tenía mucho que agradecer porque había tenido la oportunidad de estar más tiempo con mis hijos. Y sí estoy muy agradecida por haber tenido pasar 22 años 24 días con mi hijo más los 9 meses que lo llevé en el vientre. Todo ese tiempo sí fue una bendición.

Today mostly I’m sad. I wonder how many more birthdays I’ll have without my baby. I know I’ll always remember more how many birthdays I’ll have without him than my actual age.

Hoy básicamente estoy triste. Me pregunto cuántos cumpleaños más tendré sin mi bebé. Ya sé que siempre voy a recordar más los cumpleaños que voy a pasar sin él que mi edad verdadera.

But, I’ll share with you here a dream that Chris’s friend’s mom had shortly after Chris died. There are lots of things I can’t explain or understand about all of this, but I do know this dream sounds just like what Chris would say.

Pero quiero compartir un sueño que soñó la mamá de un amigo de Chris. Hay muchas cosas que no puedo explicar ni entender de todo esto, pero sí sé que este sueño parece exactamente lo que diría Chris.

I was sound asleep, but was roused by a voice and vision of Chris. He said, “This is Chris, I need you to tell a Jack that I love him….that it’s all about love….that love is all that matters.” I believe he was answering J’s question about the meaning of life. (She hadn’t known these were her son’s questions to Chris).

Estaba bien dormida pero me despertó una voz y una visión de Chris. Dijo <<Soy Chris. Necesito que le digas a J que lo quiero… que es todo sobre el amor… que sólo importa el amor.>> Creo que estaba contestando las preguntas que tenía mi hijo sobre la vida. (Ella no sabía que estas eran las preguntas de su hijo para Chris).

Chris said not to fear death, that it’s only a moment and that …..I’m struggling for words….because he put it so beautifully….but he spoke of the beauty beyond our physical lives. I understood so well in my dream state, but struggle to convey this properly. He is in total love and peace and was telling J not to be afraid.

Dijo Chris que no había que temer la muerte, que es únicamente un momento y que… estoy luchando por encontrar las palabras adecuadas…porque lo dijo tan lindo… pero habló de la belleza que es más allá que nuestra vida física. Lo entendí perfectamente bien en mi sueño, pero ahora me cuesta decirlo bien. Le estaba diciendo a mi hijo que tuviera miedo.

Chris then told him to keep reading and to keep studying. I guess J had apologized for not reading a book that Chris had recommended.

Luego Chris le dijo que siguiera leyendo y estudiando. Parece que mi hijo se había disculpado por no haber leído un libro que Chris le había recomendado.

I’ll leave this post with two of Chris’s poems from the book of poetry dedicated to me and that he printed only for me. Another gift he gave to me that I can share with you.

Dejo esta entrada con 2 poemas que escribió Chris del libro de poemas que me dedicó a mí y que sólo imprimió para mí. Otro regalo que me dio que puedo compartir contigo.

And some pictures of my beloved.

Y algunas fotos de mi querido.

Peace. Paz.

Leave a Reply

