Jumbled Up/Revoltijo

(Gracias a mi amiga y ex-alumna Leah por traducir esta entrada).

Over the last 10 days people have been following or walking with me as we searched for my beloved son Christopher. I would guess the majority of the people reading this now will have seen the video I posted on Facebook yesterday soon after I was notified that the Water Patrol was pretty certain they had found my baby down by the Lake Street Bridge.

Durante los últimos 10 días, la gente me siguió o  caminó conmigo mientras buscábamos a mi adorado hijo Christopher.  Me imagino que la mayoría de la gente que lea esto actualmente ya habrán visto el video que subí en facebook ayer por la tarde después que me avisaron los del Control Marino que estaban casi seguros de que ya habrían encontrado a mi bebe por el puente de Lake Street.

I’m a person who likes to be in control. I’ve either been in control, pretended I am, or been frustrated because I’m not much of my life. It’s really in just the last few years with events in my own life that I have come closer to letting go and letting God.

Soy una persona a la que le  gusta estar en control.  He estado en control, he fingido estar en control, o he estado frustrada por no estarlo porque no lo estoy mucho en mi vida.  La verdad es que han sido solo los últimos años, con los eventos en mi vida propia que he aprendido la habilidad de soltar el control y dejar que Dios lo tome.

And then Chris disappeared into the Mississippi. And any semblance of control I ever thought I had was gone. Along with Chris. And it seems like my life became a jumble. Mixed up. I have trouble remembering what day it is. I’m often surprised at what time it is. I only knew for 10 days I had to keep waiting for someone to find Chris. And now that they’ve found Chris, I have to plan a funeral and…and…I’m in a jumble.

Y entonces Chris desapareció en el rio Mississippi.  Y cualquier indicio de control que alguna vez pensé que tuviera se fue.  Con Chris.  Y me parece que mi vida es un revoltijo.  Todo mezclado.  Me cuesta acordarme de que día de la semana es.  Me sorprende la hora cuando veo al reloj.  Solo sabía que durante 10 días tenía que esperar a que alguien encontrara a Chris.  Y ahora que le han encontrado a Chris, tengo que planear un funeral y… y… estoy dentro de un revoltijo.

I’m a vision person. I’ve always got way too many plans and ideas and I’m always working toward something. Mostly lately in, as we say in Tapestry, not just building bridges between people who are different from each other, but crossing them.

Yo soy una persona con visión. Siempre tengo demasiados planes e ideas y siempre estoy trabajando en algo.  Últimamente casi siempre en, como decimos en Tapestry, no solo construir puentes entre gente diferente, sino cruzandolos.

And now. Well, now I have trouble seeing how I’m going to make myself sleep tonight. And I  wonder what I will do tomorrow after the appointment with the mortuary where I am blessed to have a friend who is the funeral director. Someone asked me what I will be doing tomorrow night. Huh. Jumbled.

Y ahora.  Pues, ahora me da trabajo ver como me iré dormir esta noche.  Y me pregunto que haré mañana después de la cita en la morgue donde tengo la bendición de tener un amigo como director de la funeraria.  Alguien me preguntó que haré mañana por la noche.  Pues.  Confundida.

I have always told my kids they would be my babies, even when they were 50. And Chris won’t see 50. And Austin has a lot of years to walk in this life without his big brother and I have a lot of years to walk without my older son. And sometimes I somehow hold it together and sometimes the tears and the wails cannot be stopped. People ask me, though in much more diplomatic ways, how it feels to have jumbled up life now. They ask if I need anything. And I probably do, but I honestly have no idea what that might be, except to have Chris back. And that won’t happen.

Siempre les he dicho a mis hijos que serán mis bebés, aun cuando tuvieran 50.  Y Chris no verá los 50.  Y Austin tiene muchos años para caminar durante esta vida sin su hermano mayor y yo tengo muchos años para caminar sin mi hijo mayor.  Y a veces, de alguna manera, mantengo el control, y a veces las lágrimas y los llantos no se pueden detener.  La gente me pregunta, de manera muy diplomática, como se siente vivir una vida desbaratada.  Me preguntan si ocupo algo.  Y a lo mejor si lo ocupo, pero honestamente no tengo idea de que sería lo que ocupara, a parte de tener a Chris de regreso.  Y eso no pasará.

And so in this jumble, kids who are not religious at all are getting tattoos on themselves that have Chris’s favorite message from the Bible. There’s this story about Jesus calming the storm that you can read here if you want. Chris told this story to his dad soon after he had his stroke. He told him, “Dad! I learned this great thing on our trip to New Jersey to help with Hurricane Sandy recovery. Lots of people experience things in their lives and might feel alone. But here’s the thing. You are never alone! Jesus is always with you. You don’t need to be afraid because even if you feel scared and alone, you aren’t Jesus is with you.”

Y entonces, dentro de este revoltijo, niños que no son religiosos se están tatuando el mensaje biblico favorito de Chris.  Hay una historia que se trata de cuando Jesús calma una tormenta que uno puede leer aquí si quisiera. Chris le contó esta historia a su papá después de que le diera un derrame cerebral.  Le dijo, “Pa! Aprendí algo maravilloso en nuestro viaje a New Jersey para ayudar con la recuperación después del Huracán Sandy.  Muchas personas pasan por cosas en sus vidas y pueden sentirse solos.  Pero, aquí está el colmo, uno nunca está solo!  Jesus siempre está contigo.  No tienes que tener miedo porque aunque tengas miedo y te sientas solo, no lo estas!  Jesus está contigo.

Chris’s friends are supporting Austin these days. They took him to get a tattoo today. It’s in the picture above and it’s right over his heart. I feel like my heart and my words and my life are in a jumble. Oddly as I was writing this feeling so much turmoil, I started thinking about Chris preaching these words to his dad and the jumble got just one little, teeny weeny bit untangled.

Sus amigos de Chris están apoyando a Austin estos días.  Le llevaron a que se hiciera un tatuaje hoy.  Es la foto de arriba y está sobre su corazón.  Siento que mi corazón, mis palabras, y mi vida actualmente son un revoltijo.  Curiosamente, mientras escribía esta entrada, sintiendo tanta agitación, empecé a pensar en Chris, predicando estas palabras a su Papá y el nudo se desenredó un poquito.

For those of you with jumbled hearts, please know you are not alone. I am there in the jumble with you. Others whose children have died have told me life goes on. I know it does, but I’m pretty sure it will be jumbled for awhile.

Para todos ustedes con corazones confundidos, por favor sepan que no están solos.  Yo estoy contigo dentro del revoltijo.  Otros a quienes se les han muerto sus hijos me han dicho que la vida sigue.  Se que si, pero estoy casi segura de que será un revoltijo por un rato.

Peace. Paz.

4 thoughts on “Jumbled Up/Revoltijo

  1. Janis Jablonski says:

    Sending LOVE your way Pastor Melissa. My prayers are for our Lord to give you comfort. May your angel boy know how much impact he has on the world. Janis, Grace Lutheran Church of NE Mpls.

    Like

  2. Aimee says:

    Pastor Melissa, I pray that through your jumble and tumble you are still able to find some peace. May God show you everyday you are not alone!
    Aimee, St. Stephen Lutheran Church, Bloomington, MN

    Like

Leave a Reply

